Enjoy Your Menopause!

November 20, 2008

What is Heart Failure?

When you hear the words “heart failure”, it sounds serious but the truth of the matter is heart failure doesn’t mean you’re about to die or that your heart has stopped.  It means your heart isn’t working as well as it should.  That’s what is happening with me.  According to my cardiologist, my heart isn’t working properly.

So how did I get to this point?  According to my doctor, heart failure usually doesn’t occur suddenly.  It gradually worsens over time and can be caused by:

  • coronary artery disease
  • past heart attack
  • high blood pressure
  • thyroid disorder
  • lung disease
  • heart valve disease or infection
  • heart muscle disease
  • heart damage from alcohol or drug abuse
  • heart damage due to diabetes
  • heart defects from birth
  • abnormal heart rhythms

Ten years ago, I was treated for hyperthyroid–which eventually turned into hypothyroid.  I was also diagnosed with cardiomyopathy and high blood pressure so even though I was given a clean bill of health five years ago, I was still at risk.

What I’ve learned is this:  Once you’ve been diagnosed with a condition and been given some guidelines to follow, DO IT, and don’t stop–even if the doctor tells you your condition is greatly improved.  

It’s up to you to get to the Heart of the matter! 

 

    Leave a Comment »

    No comments yet.

    RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

    Leave a Reply

