Enjoy Your Menopause!

July 18, 2008

Menopause & the Hair on My Chiny-Chin-Chin

Filed under: Uncategorized — Beverly Mahone @ 2:03 am
Tags: , , , ,

Menopause has been known to do some strange things to women.  Some women say it makes them crazy.  Others say it causes them to feel like they’re suffering through summer all year long.

For me, menopause has revealed sides of me I never thought I’d see.  An extra roll here, cellulite there and hair everywhere! 

Remember that TV show from the 1950s called Kids Say the Darndest Things! For women in menopause, the new version of that show is:  Kids Ask the Darndest Questions. It is only fitting that I would share this story today on the 96th birthday of the man who brought children and laughter into our homes for more than 25 years (Art Linkletter).

In Church this past Sunday, I found myself sitting next to an inquisitive little four-year-old.  Prior to the beginning of service, he was squirming around in his seat and looked like he was trying to play tag with the little boy seated next to him.  That little boy was my two-year-old grandson.

When our eyes met, I politely asked the four-year-old if he could sit still.  He shook his head, yes.  Then I asked him if there was anything he wanted to ask me.  He wanted to know my relationship to the boy sitting beside him.  I told him I was his grandmother.  I then asked him if there was anything else he wanted to ask.  He stared at me for a moment and then asked, “Why do you have a mustache?”

Now you know this isn’t a question I expected.  I could’ve told him the long version about how there is increased growth of hair on the face of women just before and just after menopause and it’s a common occurrence. I could’ve also taken the time to explain the fact that the facial hair is primarily due to a decreased amount of estrogen in the body.

I did acknowledge the fact that I had a mustache but before I could go any further, the choir provided a much-needed distraction.

2 Comments »

  1. OMG, I woulda slapped that little joker into next week if I was you. But, that is why I only see the “outs” infrequently.

    Comment by johnnypeepers — July 18, 2008 @ 3:16 am | Reply

  2. As I type this I’m still laughing – little bugger had sharp eyes! I’m just glad I wasn’t sitting next to him – I looked in a mirror in a well lit room and saw a hair on my neck that was an inch long!!! It was down so low my wax job never got to it!!!
    Now I’m wondering just how big a box of wax I have to buy next time…..

    still laughing……

    Comment by Pop Art Diva — July 19, 2008 @ 11:02 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

